skip to content
A number of educators holding up their awards, smiling

University of Cambridge Inspiring Educator Awards

Who inspired you? You can make your nomination through our form.

Deadline for nominations for this year’s awards is 5th November 2023.

Teachers and educators play a pivotal role in supporting young people to progress to university. The University of Cambridge acknowledges the hard work and dedication of the many inspiring educators who motivate and encourage their students.

This award sets out to recognise the input of teachers and educators who have helped support current first-year Cambridge students from UK state schools or colleges with a limited history of sending students to Cambridge.

Nomination criteria

Current, first-year Cambridge undergraduates can nominate someone who was a key influencer in their journey to Cambridge in one of the following categories:

  • Reaching Cambridge award: This award is for teachers and advisers who have been particularly encouraging towards their students to consider and prepare for a Cambridge application
  • Subject star award: This award is for teachers who have been very enthusiastic and passionate about their subject(s) which has inspired students to continue this subject onto degree-level study
  • Foundation Year Award: This award is for teachers or educators who gave invaluable support and assistance to a student entering the Cambridge Foundation Year
  • Student support champion award: This award is for teachers who have provided practical and emotional support to a student during a difficult time

The Award

One winner will be chosen in each category by a panel of judges. Winners will receive:

  • Prize certificate
  • £300 for the school to spend on IT equipment or books
  • Funded travel to the University of Cambridge Teachers and Advisers’ Conference in July 2024 (including an evening event and overnight stay at one of the Colleges)

Find out more about the previous awards, which took place in the summer of 2023:

Read the full story

Related Documents

Educator Awards 2023-24