skip to content

Undergraduate Study


The University of Cambridge welcomes applications from suitably qualified international students. We recognise the great academic and cultural value of a diverse student body and admitting students from outside the UK allows us to seek talent from the widest possible pool.

Attracting so many talented international applicants means competition for places is fierce. However, academic achievement and potential remain the selection criteria for all undergraduates and no priority is given to those who pay the overseas rate of fees.

The application process

The application process is the same for all applicants to the University of Cambridge. For a step-by-step guide, please refer to our main Applying pages or watch the following short film.


Application fee

Most international applicants* are required to pay an application fee of £60.

This is a standard charge that supports the administration of the application process, and the development and maintenance of the systems used in this process. This helps us to ensure that applicants receive a positive admissions experience. See Terms and conditions of the application fee.

*also applies to EU applicants, with the exception of residents of Ireland and the Crown Dependencies (the Channel Islands and Isle of Man).

Application fee waiver

International applicants from a country on one of the following lists are automatically eligible for the application fee waiver:

  • The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)'s Development Assistance Committee (DAC) list of Overseas Development Aid (ODA) recipients (Least Developed Countries and Other Low Income Countries only).
  • The World Bank list of Low Income Countries.
  • The United Nation’s list of Least Developed Countries.

For ease of reference, this includes applicants from:

Afghanistan, Angola, Bangladesh, Benin, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Burma (Myanmar), Burundi, Cambodia, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo (Democratic Republic), Djibouti, East Timor (Timor-Leste), Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Kiribati, Korea (Democratic People's Republic of), Lao PDR, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Nepal, Niger, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic (Syria), Tajikistan, Tanzania (United Republic of), Togo, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

If you believe you are eligible for the application fee waiver, please contact after you have submitted your UCAS application.

Follow us