skip to content

Undergraduate Study


What is the Instrumental Awards for Chamber Music scheme?

The Instrumental Awards for Chamber Music scheme exists to promote chamber music amongst students of the University. It is an intercollegiate scheme which is open to undergraduates and graduates at all Colleges.

Award holders comprise the finest chamber musicians from across the University, many of whom will follow in the footsteps of their predecessors to pursue professional careers as performers of chamber music. Students audition for coveted places at the beginning of each academic year and are placed in groups by the managers of the scheme to work together for the remainder of the year. Groups often play together for the whole of their time at Cambridge and are encouraged to develop long-term relationships together as chamber musicians.

The Scheme not only provides Award holders with financial assistance of up to £200 towards individual instrumental lessons, but also regular coaching as a group from leading specialist chamber musicians including James Boyd, Melanie Ragge and Andrew West. Masterclasses are also a feature of the scheme. Award holders have recently participated in masterclasses with Richard Egarr (piano), Steven Isserlis (cello), Angela Hewitt (piano) and the Endellion String Quartet.

Regular performances are important ways for our students to develop musically as individuals and as chamber groups and groups give regular recitals throughout the year.

For more information, please see the Faculty of Music website.

Important dates

  • 28 February 2020: Application deadline
  • 4 May 2020: Application deadline for existing students
  • 1 August 2020: Application deadline for graduate applications 

Instrumental Award Application

Application Form

The Instrumental Award application deadline is 28 February 2020.

Award Managers

  • Dr S J Barrett, Director of the IAS
  • Prof Margaret Faultless, Performance Director
  • Dr Martin Ennis
  • Christopher Lawrence
  • Dr Paul Wingfield 


Chloe Davidson
Administrator, Instrumental Awards for Chamber Music Scheme